• Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

Hugh
Hugh

A Mann's Man

• 6,949 Posts

Users Awards

Posted 02 January 2018 - 05:08 PM

Hey guys, I know we all haven't been around much lately, and that's why I think this thread is a good idea! Instead of us posting bits and pieces of our lives in the chat thread, how about we catch up in this one?

Basically, what happened to you in 2017? What were your highlights? Who are you right now and where are you at?

Hugh
Hugh

A Mann's Man

• 6,949 Posts

Users Awards

Posted 03 January 2018 - 05:54 PM

I guess I'll start, I only have a little bit of time but I'll type up what I can! And yes, I'll have many pictures to share in the future!

Basically, 2017 was me working on my Master's. My field season started in April, and I managed 7 students starting in May, which then went down to 5 students from June-August. We caught 62 fish of the species I'm studying, and performed surgery on them implant a tracking device! It was awesome. And a bunch of stuff in between as well, I had a lot of trackers placed throughout the river system to tell me when the fish passed by. I then defended my PhD proposal in front of my committee and now I'm doing a PhD on this study and will hopefully be graduating in May of 2020!

Top Bunk
Top Bunk

Top Bunk

• Administrator
  • 15,554 Posts

Users Awards

Posted 03 January 2018 - 06:42 PM

Neat, sounds like you've been making good progress on things!

I've still been slow on the uptake of adulting. Life is hard.

Nothing really eventful happened for me, aside from getting a new job working at UPS, dealing with auditing international packages for export. I'll still be bartending over the summer for my summer job when that starts back up in May, but only on the weekends.

I've also been learning to drive, albeit slowly. I only get one (maybe two if I'm lucky) days to practice a week. It's hard to find practice time to fit around my dad's schedule along with my own.